SCotUS Goes for the Bronze

We’re less than 12 hours away from the expected decisions in United States v. Windsor and Hollingsworth v. Perry and I’m both excited and nervous. Excited because it’s generally agreed that the decisions will have a positive effect on gay equal rights in the US. Nervous because I’m justifiably concerned that the decisions will be very narrow and not have nearly the effect which I wish them to have.  I’m hoping for a “gold medal” joint decision on these cases. the decision that would ensure marriage equality for the US.  I’m expecting two separate decisions.  In Hollingsworth v. Perry, I’m expecting a California-specific decision which strikes down Proposition 8.  As for US v. Windsor, I’ve subscribed to the definitions of the possible decisions.  Gold would be the aforementioned full marriage rights throughout the US and it’s territories.   This is, unfortunately, highly unlikely.  Silver would be interstate and federal recognition of marriage rights, but would not for any state to grant marriage licenses if they chose not too.  Honestly, I think silver is the least likely decision.  Finally, bronze is the decision I’m expecting tomorrow.  That would require federal recognition of same sex marriage, but not inter-state.  And of course, finally, the court could decline to make a decision, but that would suck balls, and if that were the case, I’m headed to DC tomorrow to personally punch Roberts and Scalia in the balls.

Leave a Reply

